Program's description

Topological phases of matter [TOPMAT]: from the quantum Hall effect to spin liquids

The understanding of collective quantum phenomena in condensed-matter systems has
been a central topic in physics, since the beginning of the 20th century and the discovery of
superconductivity and superfluidity. For some long period of time, two important ideas lead
the understanding of the quantum states of matter: the Ginzburg-Landau theory of phase
transitions (based on [broken]symmetries and their associated order parameters), and the
Landau theory of Fermi liquids (based on weakly interacting quasi particles). But since the
discovery of the quantum Hall effects in the eighties, it has been understood that many
materials realize some new states of matter that cannot be characterized using conventional
(Landau) order parameters and for which some fundamentally different approaches are
required. In most of them, topology is playing a crucial role. These new phases, and the
associated theoretical tools, are not only relevant to describe the low temperature phases of
the electrons (or their spins) in some particular solids, but they are also relevant to some
“artificial” quantum systems, such as trapped cold atoms or nanofabricated superconducting
arrays, which both could be engineered to realize some topological phases. All these
systems are both fascinating from a conceptual point of view, as they challenge our views on
many-particle systems and quantum mechanics, but they could also lead to new types of
devices and applications.


If you are interested in participating to this program, please contact the organizers (see below).

Scientific coordinators :

Thierry Jolicoeur (DR CNRS), LPTMS, Université Paris-Sud
Philippe Lecheminant (PR), LPTM, Université de Cergy-Pontoise
Grégoire Misguich (CEA), IPhT, CEA Saclay



The TopMat program is funded in the framework of PSI2 project of the Université Paris-Saclay.

To find out more about this initiative, please go here.



ipht logo      CEA logo       lptms logo


Preliminary list of participants

Alet  Fabien 
Becca Federico 
Hsieh Chang-Tse 
Macdonald Allan
Mila  Frederic
Oshikawa  Masaki 
Pujol  Pierre 
Repellin  Cécile 
Simon  Steve 
Sodemann  Inti 
Starykh Oleg 
Todadri Senthil 
Totsuka Keisuke 
Yamada Masahiko
Online user: 1